Not So Quiet

Anything diorama related goes here.
Matt Parvis
Site Contributor..
Site Contributor..

Not So Quiet

Post by Matt Parvis »

So, my latest project, which I have been working on for a couple of months, is a WWI dio. I am using Masterbox's recent "Hand to Hand fighting, WWI era" figures, some from ICM's British Infantry 1917-1918, and Takom's Mk IV "Female" with their workable track link set thrown in.

I haven't taken any pictures as the build progressed so I won't bore everyone with trying to describe how things went and skip right to where I am as of this moment:

First up, the Mk IV. The kit went together pretty well, but, as others have mentioned in threads about other Takom kits, the attachment points are pretty large and can cause issues at times.

Painting of the tank is pretty much complete, just some metal pigments to add for the MG barrels. I do still need to finish painting the mud that is on the tank to get it to match the base. The left hand side track from the mid-point back has been painted and just needs some touching up for the base and then some dry-brushing for highlights.

Speaking of the base, here it is:

I am pretty happy with it right now. It still needs some more details added and some paint touched up. The biggest issue is that the sides aren't really even and flat, so, fitting a wood covering is proving difficult. I may continue with plaster over the foam on the sides followed up by sanding to get a smooth face that can then be painted black. We will see what looks to work best.

here is the tank and base together:

Finally, some heads (Hornet) on stakes:

... and their bodies:

The British soldiers are mostly done with small areas to be painted and details to be added and painted remaining. The Germans need more to complete, but with generally simpler uniforms hopefully they will go quick.

So, that is the state of this project, hopefully I'll manage to post again before the month is out.

Matt

Steve Hutchinson