Hello from Karben...next to Frankfurt

The place to introduce yourself and say hello to fellow members. Also information on registering.
Raoul Kunz
Senior Site Contributor.....

Hello from Karben...next to Frankfurt

Post by Raoul Kunz »

I thought maybe we should introduce us again, there may be new members coming eventually and I thought it would be a nice restart (mind you I thought of this only once I saw Steve's post :!: )

So who am I and what do I do?
I'm a student of English and History, aiming to be a teacher of those subjects eventually. I've been doing this for quite a while because..."stuff happened" when I started (id est I almost got my head splattered all over the zebra crossing, near death experience, permanently slightly deformed skull because it took "some" damage and all those happy things..not that I'm bitter, after all the courts decided that I deserve some compensation.. after only 6 years.. but the enemy...err.."opposing" lawyer immediately made an objection and now it's on again...). Sorry, off-topic rant :oops: .

I also do private tuition in a..how do I put this.. it's an institute that does offer these services.. does that make it a cram school? Native speakers to the rescue? :lol:

Regarding modeling preferences (and that's it what this really is about ;) ) I prefer German 39-45 vehicles with a rather pronounced tendency over the last couple of years to go for the "standard" vehicles, Panzer III, IV, StuGs and the like.
I also usually like mid-war vehicles best, not so much the smaller early types (though they do have some merit) or the late war monstrosities, chiefly because I also have a very keen interest in how they where deployed tactically and especially operationally and how these where not tanks for tank's sake but elements of the much older German tradition of fighting a war of movement.

I still lack figure modelling skills, though I'm working on this. Same with dioramas.

Best regards

Raoul G. Kunz